The Adventures of Robin Hood (1938)

Image

  • directed by Michael Curtiz
  • starring Errol Flynn, Olivia de Havilland, Basil Rathbone, Claude Rains
  • when Prince John and the Norman Lords begin oppressing the Saxon masses in King Richard’s absence, a Saxon lord fights back as the outlaw leader of a rebel guerrilla army.

Lady Marian: Why, you speak treason! 
Robin Hood: Fluently. 

This was a treat, though I can’t imagine feeling the same way had I experienced it in black and white. The colors popped, and though I’d seen many iterations of the Robin Hood story, I had an inkling that this would end up being THE AUTHORITY on the dude from Locksley. In part this was due to the lush scenery and bright characters. It kinda felt like only eating Sweet Chili or Special Edition Cheeseburger flavored Doritos your whole life until you finally got around to trying Cool Ranch. Sure, I gave Ridley Scott, Kevin Costner, Mel Brooks, and my fifth grade elementary school class a chance at it, and God knows I love Disney animation, but to see Errol Flynn match up against Basil Rathbone at the end of this was just classic stuff. The swordfight came complete with spiral staircase action, as well as the much coveted shadows-on-the-tower-wall-only fighting sequence.

I’ll check back on the Disney version when I get to 1973, if only for the “OO-De-Lally” scene, but Errol Flynn and Basil Rathbone alone made this movie Cool Ranch to the bone.

About classixquest
all the things I should have seen

3 Responses to The Adventures of Robin Hood (1938)

  1. Stair says:

    Ok, you’ve talked me out of trying Sweet Chili Doritos.

  2. Pingback: Blockade (1938) | classixquest

  3. Pingback: Blockade (1938) | classixquest

Leave a Reply

